Able-bodied handicap?

Published July 15, 2011 by ABadKitten

It’s a seriously good thing I’m not schizophrenic with a second personality like Jim Carrey in Me, Myself, and Irene. I can’t count on my fingers and toes how many times I’ve seen someone park in a handicap parking spot, dig out a handicap window hanger, then jump out of the car and “tralalala” all the way to the door whistling a snazzy tune. They’re not handicapped, damn it. They’re abusing the privilege.

My stepmother has a condition that causes her to be somewhat handicapped, so she gets one of those window hangers. When my dad drives her around, he puts it in his window so he can park in a handicapped spot…because she’s in the car. He never uses it when she’s not in the car with him because he’s not one to abuse something like that. What about people who really are handicapped and need that spot that you’re so selfishly parked in simply because you don’t feel like walking your lazy ass to the door from a normal parking spot? Jack ass. You must think you’re some type of special, huh?

And by the way, obesity is not a handicap. You don’t deserve the privilege of that little blue sign or that handicapped parking spot.

Rage. Why can’t people learn to be considerate of others and stop being so god damn selfish?

 

5 comments on “Able-bodied handicap?

  • I believe in handicapped parking and agree that we need to be more diligent in our use of the privilege. I also think that some reasonable amount of parking should be applied.  Going to the movie theater for example you’ll find rows of handicapped parking unused.  I think this is true for any large parking lot (malls, stadiums, etc.).  I also once saw a space that was reserved for “pregnant women” which I thought was a good idea.  Of course it was in front of a maternity clothes store.

  • Crap like this annoys me, because my older sister is in a wheelchair and so from a young age I learned how inconsiderate people could be, and I can’t help but look for the placard or icon, or watch someone getting out of a car to see if it really seems like they need it, and it’s AMAZING to me how people just don’t care. With my sister, it’s not a matter of distance or convience (though for those disabled without people with them, and such that can be incredibly necessary to their safety as well) but if we don’t have the extra room, we can end up having to back the car out into the aisle, inconvinecing everyone else and endangering ourselves to get her loaded in. =/ we don’t even park in a handicap spot unless it’s necessary because don’t want to be a bother to someone who might need it more, nor have I ever so much as thought about getting one for myself (not that I need one, but half the people you see using them are more able-bodied than me still) or EVER using my sister’s despite the fact I do walk with a cane and… Still fairly poorly despite that aid. Even when it means parking in the spot the furtherest away because I know how much of a pain in the ass it is when someone takes a spot you NEED just for their own convienence. And it’s the most annoying thing in the world to me. My parents are somewhat impatient and have actually stopped taking my sister out half as often and I think it’s because of this, which is half them being selfish and not wanting to overcome that frustration for her well-being, but it’s also at least in part because people make it such a bitch to go ANYWHERE and find a handicap parking spot these days. =/

  • Leave a Reply

