Dead Island

Published July 11, 2011 by ABadKitten

Zombies are a specific topic, genre, idea that I will never get tired of. I actually can’t remember a time that I’ve dislike the idea of them…no matter how freaked out it had me. I started reading Max Brook’s The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead today by recommendation of my boss and…whoa. It’s been around since ’03 so it’s not like it’s a new thing, but it’s new to me. I never got to read it and now I’m really disappointed I didn’t pick it up earlier. It’s extremely interesting…and insanely terrifying. The author claims he has done a lot of research and pulls facts and evidence from historical data, experiments and findings–as if I wasn’t creeped out enough. It started to make me think, though, what would it really be like if the world was thrown into chaos but an actual zombie apocalypse? Video games, horror films/shows and comics paint a pretty gruesome picture for us already.

We’ve got games such as (my personal favorites) Left for Dead and Left for Dead 2. Or there’s always the zombie maps on games such as Call of Duty Black Ops (Call of the Dead, Kino Der Toten, Shangri-la, etc) which all basically scared the pee out of me. Aside from that, they all have their own spin on a Zombie Apocalypse. I must say, though, aside from movies, shows or comics like The Night of the Living Dead or Walking Dead… zombie video games are my personal favorite. I wonder which–if any–are close to reality, assuming such a day ever happens.

And by the way, this is the single most depression trailer I’ve ever seen in my life for a zombie game. The game still looks absolutely amazing though!

Dead Island 9/6/2011

This game looks wicked. In a nutshell, a mysterious outbreak of a disease turns everyone at this paradise island into maniacal, flesh-eating monsters. There are four people who find themselves mysteriously immune to the disease, so it’s their job (your job, actually ) to save the survivors, massacre the undead and, hopefully, stay alive.

Sounds like a dream vacation.

4 comments on “Dead Island

  • Leave a Reply

