Time Machine~

Published March 8, 2010 by ABadKitten

Going back in time– a concept that sounds so nice, yet so dangerous at the same time.

I think it would be so nice to go back again. Sometimes. My high school years weren’t the best years of my life, but they were some of them. Most definitely. At least the good times I had with my friends, the good times I had in general. It would be nice to relive those experiences again without just photographs to remind me.

Fixing things I messed up would also be a plus. Although, I’m a firm believer in that whole “everything happens for a reason” type of thing. It doesn’t mean I always want to accept it, but I believe it. Even still, there are plenty of things that went wrong that I could have prevented, or plenty of things that I didn’t do that I should have did. If I could go back, I would (at least) do the things I didn’t do in order to make my “now” all the better, the way it should be.

I wouldn’t change the friends I made back then, regardless of our “now” situations or lack there of. I don’t keep in contact with the majority of my friends from high school…although I’m attempting to get back onto my facebook more often to do so. I wouldn’t change anything about meeting my boyfriend, because things are perfect the way they are. Relationship-wise anyway, haha.

I would take my school work more seriously and I would make sure I did it to the best of my ability instead of slacking off. Most of the grades I got in high school were in no way a reflection of my abilities, because I could have done much better if I had wanted to. I was (psh…I AM) a huge procrastinator, saving work for the night before or the day of. I didn’t hand in many of my essays or bigger projects because I got lazy or I was “busy” living my teenage life. It’s easier to understand how many teachers (or adults in general) view high schoolers now, considering I was one of those youngsters who had so much potential but let it go to waste. I had plenty of teachers tell me that. I should go back to visit and present them with a bouquet of flowers for putting up with my anyway.

I would go back before my grandmother died of breast cancer and be a better grand-daughter. I was a spoiled little brat when I was younger. I yelled at her a lot and treated her horribly sometimes…I remember one fight in particular when she said, “Well fine…I’m sure there are plenty of other little girls who would want me as their grandmother…” I don’t remember what I said, but I’m 100% positive those few tears she shed when she said that were not deserved. (Have you ever read For One More Day by Mitch Albom? If I were the main character, my grandmother would take the place of his mother. Go read that book.)

I would have spent way more time with the friends I wish I was still in contact with. There are a few that I miss so much that it makes my heart ache! I would also have spent more time with two of my friends who passed before their time. Then again, I can’t think of one person who would make a similar wish in regards to someone they have lost.

The only set back to this– changing something in the past changes a lot in the future. As long as I’m not a horrible person,my boyfriend is still here loving me to death, my family is still healthy and happy along with my friends…I can’t say I would care if my “now” would change. As long as it would be for the better.

If you could go back in time, what would you relive or change?

13 comments on “Time Machine~

  • As much as I would like to revisit the past, I know that going back would completely and totally change who I am today. Maybe for the better, maybe for the worse but I kind of like who I am because of everything I went through and every choice I made.

  • Hm, my high school years. yeah… hahahah.. I know I disappointed my parents a lot when I was in high school, particularly in Year 11 hahaha (my grades started from D, then E, then so on…).I managed to redeem myself, but… I’d like to see what would happen if I go back and changed my attitude.

  • aww great pic :)this is a very good question …but, ya know what, i wouldn’t change anything (as hard as that may be to believe) …however, i definitely would relive a couple …er ten things πŸ˜‰

  • i would like to have the “view only” type of time machine as i would like to know how some things really did happen in history. but to go back and change something about my life? nope as i really dont have any regrets as i am pretty happy of who i am and it has taken me sometime to relize that.

  • There is no such a thing as a time machine. What is done is done and the memories are the only time machine who brings us back to the past, but it deforms it.That is to say that I would change a thing in my past because that will change me and me will be not be me and that is not thinkable.

  • Hello Ms. Amber,You made your site simple yet elegant. The pictures are a nice touch. I see that you have a wide variety of interests and observations here! I like to write articles about Jehovah God on my site to help people to really get to know Him and His plans for us, especially in these troubled times. 4 Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength: (Isaiah 26:4) (KJV)

  • There really isn’t anything I’d go back and change. All the bad as bad as it was has helped lead me to where I am today and shape me into who I am today. Both of those things helped in finding my wonderful girlfriend. So nope wouldn’t change any of that.Having said that…I would take a Hind attack helicopter back in time to the battle of the Alamo and just when the Mexican army thought they had the fort surrounded and defeated I would rise from behind the wall and unleash weapons they hadn’t dreamed of yet. :)orI would take a PS3 back in time to 1980’s Nintendo and show them what their simple system would lead to. πŸ™‚

  • i would have to say that i would relive all of my moments if i could go back, there are a few things that i would change, but not very much, im a firm believer in things happen for a reason!! some things are meant to be and some are not. 

  • I used to want to go back into time. I regret a lot of things that I did/didn’t do and for my reactions and so on, but then I realized going back into time wouldn’t change anything. It wouldn’t help, for if I did change what I did/didn’t do and my reactions I wouldn’t be who I am today and I think that I am sorta ok for who I am. I learned from my mistakes and I have the lessons and yes even the scars but they help me to keep moving on and to be a better person. No matter how I still struggle with those past mistakes yet, I know that I will learn from them and move on. So no I wouldn’t change anything and I don’t really want to go back into my past though I would love to see our nations history in play. πŸ˜€

  • Leave a Reply

