Help, please! ^-^

Published February 22, 2010 by ABadKitten

I was given a little project in my history class today, and Xanga felt like the perfect way to do it. All I need from all of you is your answers to these questions if they apply to you. A rec would also be helpful, since it’s a survey and the data is best if received in large numbers. Thank you!

  • Are you an immigrant to the US? First generation?
  • From where did you come, and how did you arrive? (Boat, plane, etc.)
  • How difficult was it for you when you first arrived? (Culture shock, discrimination, etc?)
  • Did you speak English when you got here? If not, did you take English classes or learn another way?
  • What are the biggest issues you face today regarding your culture vs. American culture?
  • Do you have children who were born here? What are the biggest conflicts you have with them, regarding the culture you were raised with and their Americanization? (The way they dress vs. the way you were taught to dress, the way they speak vs. the way you were taught to speak, etc.)

I notice that not a lot of those commenting can answer these questions, but that’s perfectly fine! Don’t worry! I encourage you to read the responses of those who can answer these questions, though, as they can be very insightful!

Your participation is greatly appreciated!!

24 comments on “Help, please! ^-^

  • 1. No. American citizen. 2. Plane 3. A little 4. Yes 5. Although I was born here and raised in Puerto Rico, I am not accepted in either culture. I’m American by birth but Puertorican by heritage and I am discriminated against. 6. Yes (3) 7. We were already Americanized but they are still under discrimination.

  • Sorry I can’t answer. My dad’s family is native American so they’ve been here since……wow, who knows. And my mom’s family has been here since before the Revolutionary war. But I’ll rec for you…I hope you get some help with your project! πŸ™‚

  • I will recommend but unfortunately I can not help you. My Father’s side is Native-American and German My Mother’s side is Irish and Scottish. I’m not sure of when either side came to the States.. it’s been a long time ago.Sorry and Goodluck!

  • Are you an immigrant to the US? First generation? No, but my great grandparents were, so I’ll try and help the best I can. Sorry if it doesn’t help much…How did you get here?(Boat, plane, etc.) I think via boat, but I’m not sure.How difficult was it for you when you firstarrived?It was difficult for them just to get here. They weren’t supposed to leave the Ukraine. They left during a time of war.Did you speak English when you got here? What are the biggestissues you face today regarding your culture vs. American culture? They learned English, yes. I’m not sure what the biggest issues were. I know they preserved a bit of their culture in that my grandfather upheld some traditions, if that helps. My grandparents and great grandparents have passed away, though, so there weren’t really issues faced in this time.Doyou have children who were born here? What are the biggest conflictsyou have with them regarding the culture you were raised with and theAmericanization of your children?I do believe my grandfather was born here. My grandmother was American, and their children (my mother and aunt) were born here. Again, I’m not certain of their biggest conflicts :I’ll ask my mom if she can clarify some things later. I hope you find someone who can help more.

  • Well, I’m Canadian and I moved to the States when I was nine. Canada isn’t all that different from the States though (we speak the same language, we’re on the same continent…), so this probably won’t be too much help. Sorry! I rec’ed it for you though!I’m married to an American now and my baby girl will be born here as well, but I’m completely okay with that. America is home now.

  • I’m not an immigrant but my grandmother is from Germany, she came here by plane. It wasn’t very difficult for her because she married my grandfather who is an American citizen. She did not speak English but she started to pick up on it after a while. I don’t think she took any classes though. All of her kids (including my dad) were born in Germany, but moved after my dad (the youngest) was 4. I don’t think the culture is that different. They are a lot more blunt over there, but other than that, I never really notice the culture differences. Sorry if this doesn’t help. :/

  • Leave a Reply

